top of page
Search
  • paigemarquardt

Week 12: A Weekend in Florence

11/11/2019 - Monday I just went to class. When I got home I had a paper to write, so that took up most of my night.


11/12/2019 - Tuesday I had class in the morning. I made truffle pasta for lunch, but shortly after, I didn’t feel good. I ended up just laying down for a while and watching Netflix.


11/13/2019 - On Wednesday, I was in charge of an “instagram takeover” with my study abroad program. Basically I got to pick what to post on their instagram’s story for a day, and share my day to day life with their followers. It was pretty fun, and gave me an excuse to buy my favorite meals. I also had an Italian test, but it went really well. I’m definitely doing better in that class than I was in the beginning of the semester. That night, my friends from North Carolina that I normally hang out with here wanted to go get dinner. We went to a place called Il Teatro. It is the first place that I have seen penne alla vodka on the menu, so I had to get it (vodka sauce is my favorite). They also have a family style deal where you get to have one appetizer, one entree, and unlimited wine for just 15 euro. We decided we would have to come back and try that before we leave.



11/14/2019 - Thursday I had my morning class. It was like the first sunny day in 14 days. After that I chilled at home, until I had to work on a class project with my partner in my History of Italian Fashion class. Our topic is Gucci and how each of their individual creative directors have shaped the brand into the successful business it is today. I got a fruit bowl from the cafe we were at, and it was so good. It actually had good fruit, like mango, black raspberries, strawberries, apples, and bananas, instead of the typical melon (which I hate). When I finished up there, I went to get pizza at Gustapizza with Hannah, Lauren, and Kendall. I meant to get pizza, but accidentally ordered a calzone. It was fine with me though, I like calzones too. The dough was sooo good. To finish the night we stopped at a gelato shop. It was called Sbrino. It was the BEST. I’m so happy, I think I have finally found it. The best gelato in Florence! Plus they make it all fresh daily, because you can see the kitchen in the back. I of course got the stracciatella (like always), but it was still the best I’ve had. It just stinks I didn’t find it earlier in the semester. But if you need me, you know where I’ll be every night the rest of the semester.



11/15/2019 - Friday I just slept in because it’s one of the first Friday’s I haven’t had a trip to go on. I think I’ve only really had one other Friday free this semester. The rest of the day I worked on homework to try to get ahead on my many projects that will be due in the next 3 weeks. Plus, I have trips planned for the next two weekends so I will only have time during the week to work.


11/16/2019 - Another rainy day in Florence, Saturday. I spent most of the time indoors, except for when I went to get groceries. I worked on some of my class projects and even did a little job searching (since I guess I should get applying to some places soon). I also found out there is a mall just outside of Florence that has an outlet Gucci and Prada store (and potentially more, I’m not sure). How have I NOT known about this? I will be immediately hitting up that mall. I was going to go to the Uffizi Museum tomorrow, but now I’m debating...I guess I should probably get cultured first, rather than spend money I don’t have. Stay tuned though, because I will make it to those Gucci and Prada outlet stores if it’s the last thing I do before I leave.


11/17/2019 - Well, I was supposed to wake up early Sunday to go to the Uffizi Gallery, but it ended up being not so early. I still went to the museum though, no worries. I was only there one other time, but only for a little bit. I was also pretty young, and all I remember was getting stuck on the naked statue floor and we couldn’t figure out how to get anywhere else in the museum. Revisiting now, I’m not sure how we got that confused, but whatever. The line to get in took about an hour, which wasn’t too bad. The only bad part was the people behind me (or sort of behind me) in line. They were foreign, and I know Americans have a large bubble. But I kid you not they were physically touching me and surrounding me. I was literally in the center of their circle they were talking in. At one point they completely were in front of me, like can’t we just wait in a line like normal? Anyway, I get in the museum and it was a lot like I remember, except, like I said, I saw a lot more of the artwork besides the nude statues this time. The building itself is really cool, too. There is an intricate, unique fresco on each block of the ceiling. Also, the views of Florence are amazing. On the one side you can see the Duomo and Palazzo Vecchio, and on the other side you can see the Ponte Vecchio and the river Arno. The river is actually pretty high right now. My roommate thinks it will flood, but hopefully it doesn’t. It’s from all the rain we have been getting every day. But, I saw some cool works of art. The Uffizi Gallery is actually one of the most prominent art museums in the world, besides the Louvre. It has lots of work from Botticelli, Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci, and Raphael. It was quite busy, though not as bad as the Louvre. The one thing I wish people would stop doing at art museums is taking pictures of themselves with the art. I had at least 3 people shove ahead of me to take a picture with art, while I was looking at it. Can’t people just take a picture of it by itself (if they really need a picture of it to begin with)? Anyway, after I was finished, I got an ornament of Florence in the gift shop that is hand painted. Then I stopped in Eataly and got some new sauces and risotto to make. I headed home, after, and cleaned the apartment and did some homework to end the day.



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page